Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Council commemorate Chairboys' promotion at special event

Gareth Ainsworth and Trevor Stroud amongst guests at Council HQ.

2 August 2018

Wycombe Wanderers’ promotion to Sky Bet League 1 was celebrated at a special ceremony hosted by Wycombe District Council on Thursday afternoon.

Manager Gareth Ainsworth was joined by club president Ivor Beeks, chairman Trevor Stroud, sporting director Andrew Howard, assistant manager Richard Dobson and club and team captains Matt Bloomfield and Adam El-Abd for a reception at the council’s offices in the town centre, accepting a prestigious plaque in recognition of their achievement of winning promotion for the first time since becoming supporter-owned in 2012.

Cllr Tony Green, chairman of Wycombe District Council, spoke of his admiration for the club’s progress over the past four years and wished the Chairboys luck for the new season, which kicks off on Saturday when Blackpool visit Adams Park (kick-off 3pm).

He said: “Everyone at Wycombe District Council was thrilled to see Wycombe Wanderers clinch promotion to League 1 and congratulate Gareth and his team on a magnificent achievement. The club has made tremendous strides forward in recent times, which is testament to the hard work of its directors, staff and players and the loyal and dedicated support it receives from their fans.

“We wish them every success in League 1 and look forward to seeing them create new memories for the whole town to enjoy in the coming weeks, months and years to come.”

Trevor Stroud added: “It’s our mission to continue to provide a football club for its town to be proud of, and receiving this recognition of Wycombe District Council is a special accolade for us as we look forward to beginning life back in League 1 on Saturday.

“We hope to return here one day soon, with more silverware and more cause for celebration, but for now we are grateful for the opportunity to re-live the glory of our promotion year.”

Cllr Green was accompanied by Council leader Cllr Katrina Wood, Lead Member for Community Cllr Graham Peart, Chief Executive Karen Satterford and Corporate Director Sue Bolter, plus representatives from the staff at the Council’s offices.

Advertisement block