Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Bayo named in EFL Team of the Season

Akinfenwa included in overall XI across three divisions.

16 April 2018

Wanderers striker Adebayo Akinfenwa was named in the EFL Team of the Season across all three divisions at last night's EFL Awards ceremony in London.

Akinfenwa, 35, has helped to propel the Chairboys into promotion contention with 18 goals in all competitions so far, which cemented his place in the running for the Sky Bet League Two Player of the Year award, as well as his inclusion in the Sky Bet League Two Team of the Season.

Accrington striker Billy Kee scooped the Player of the Year prize, but Akinfenwa was recognised in the overall EFL Team of the Season, collecting a trophy on stage alongside stars including Fulham's Ryan Sessegnon and Wolves' Ruben Neves.

The team in full was as follows:

John Ruddy (Wolves)
Nathan Byrne (Wigan)
Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)
Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn)
Conor Coady (Wolves)
Bradley Dack (Blackburn)
Ruben Neves (Wolves)
James Maddison (Norwich)
Billy Kee (Accrington)
Bobby Reid (Bristol City)
Adebayo Akinfenwa (Wycombe)

Manager: John Coleman (Accrington)

Advertisement block