Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Akinfenwa earns PFA Team of the Year accolade

Striker recognised by fellow professionals.

17 April 2018

Adebayo Akinfenwa has followed up his inclusion in the EFL Team of the Season by earning a place in the PFA League Two Team of the Year, voted for by players across the division.

The forward came second in the running for the Sky Bet League Two Player of the Year contest at Sunday's EFL Awards and was named in the overall Team of the Season across all three divisions.

Now he's achieved a place in the divisional PFA Team of the Year, earning the respect of fellow professionals with his 18 goals in all competitions so far this season.

The 2018 PFA Awards will be held at the Grosvenor House, London on April 22nd.

The PFA Awards celebrate the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

As the season draws towards its climax, the PFA Awards are a celebration of the achievement of all PFA members from the last 12 months.

The PFA League Two Team of the Year is:

GK: Marek Stech (Luton Town)
RB: Jack Grimmer (Coventry City)
CB: Alan Sheehan (Luton Town)
CB: Mark Hughes (Accrington Stanley)
LB: Dan Potts (Luton Town)
MID: Jorge Grant (Notts County, on loan from Nottingham Forest)
MID: Luke Berry (Luton Town)
MID: Sean McConville (Accrington Stanley)
FWD: Adebayo Akinfenwa (Wycombe Wanderers)
FWD: Billy Kee (Accrington Stanley)
FWD: Danny Hylton (Luton Town)

Advertisement block