Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Flashback 2006: Wycombe hand Premier League Fulham a cup upset at the Cottage

16 June 2017

The Chairboys have been drawn at home to Fulham in the first round of the 2017/18 Carabao Cup, and ahead of the tie on w/c 7th August, we take a look at previous cup shock against the Cottagers in 2006.

Wycombe provided a second round League Cup shock to dump then Premier League side Fulham out at Craven Cottage in September 2006.

Wanderers raced into an early lead when Jermaine Easter buried home a chance after keeper Jan Lastuvka parried Matt Bloomfield's shot.

After Heidur Helguson twice went close to levelling, Wycombe doubled their advantage from the spot with under five minutes remaining in the first half.

Easter was felled in the area by Carlos Bocanegra and referee Andrew Hall had no alternative but to point to the spot. Tommy Mooney stepped up and calmly sent Lastuvka the wrong way to send the travelling support wild.

After a below par first 45 for the hosts, they came flying out the traps in the second period and pulled one back within three minutes of the restart.

Wayne Routledge burst through with a thunderous run, laying the ball into the path of Björn Runstrom who looped in a cross from the left which Helguson was well-placed to nod into the net at the back post.

Fulham continued to carve open chances, with Tomasz Radzinski smacking the post with a shot and Runstrom missing an open goal.

After a tense last few minutes, Wycombe stood firm and denied all that Fulham could throw at them to book their place in the third round.

The Chairboys would then of course, go all the way to the semi-final of the compeition, defeating Doncaster, Notts County and Charlton before bowing out to Premier League giants Chelsea over two legs.

Fulham: Lastuvka, Volz, Zakuani, Bocanegra (Omozusi 58), Niclas Jensen (Rosenior 65), Routledge, Claus Jensen, Timlin, Radzinski, Runstrom (John 78), Helguson.

Subs Not Used: Crossley, Collins.

Wycombe: Young, Williamson, Antwi, Grant, Palmer (Doherty 72), Golbourne, Betsy, Bloomfield, Fernandez (Martin 61), Easter, Mooney (Dixon 89).

Subs Not Used: Gregory, Anya.


Advertisement block