Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Chairboys awarded EFL Family Excellence status for sixth year running

28 April 2017

Wycombe Wanderers are one of 51 clubs to be recognised by the EFL for its outstanding experience provided young fans and families.

Created in 2007, the EFL Family Excellence Award is celebrating its 10th anniversary this season, with a record-breaking number of clubs from across all three divisions in the achieving the award for 2017, with a significant increase in the benchmark standard being applied by the judging panel.

Over the past 10 years, more and more young people have made their way through the turnstiles in the EFL, with junior season ticket sales having increased by a staggering 37% since 2007, and 20% of all EFL club match attendees now under the age of 16.

More than ever this year, EFL clubs are providing families with engaging and innovative matchday entertainment, as they continue to find new and unique ways to attract fans and their families to matches.

In achieving the award, Wycombe have been recognised for the sixth successive season as offering superb entertainment at Adams Park, engaging with young fans and families.

Such evidence is a strong indication of a healthy future for football in this country according to Shaun Harvey, EFL Chief Executive.

He said: “The EFL Family Excellence Awards have proven to be a fantastic vehicle for celebrating and highlighting the excellent progress that clubs are making in providing families with improved match day experiences.

“Now in their 10th year, the Awards have made a significant impact and this year’s winners have once again shown how innovative thinking and a strong commitment can enhance the experience for both home and away.

“I wish to congratulate each and every club who has been recognised for playing their part in continuing to attract a growing number of younger fans to the game in what is undoubtedly a valuable indication of a bright and healthy future for the EFL.”

Over the past decade eight clubs have secured the award in every year they have been eligible to receive it; Birmingham City, Bolton Wanderers, Cardiff City, Doncaster Rovers, Huddersfield Town, Ipswich Town, Milton Keynes Dons and Reading.

Meanwhile Aston Villa, Cambridge United, Mansfield Town and Newport County have been awarded the accolade for the first time this season.

The Award recipients are decided by an independent assessment using real families that has been commissioned by the EFL, across all 72 League clubs, during the 2016/17 season.

The full list of clubs to receive the award is as follows:

AFC Wimbledon
Aston Villa
Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Brighton & Hove Albion
Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Cambridge United
Cardiff City
Carlisle United
Charlton Athletic
Cheltenham Town
Colchester United
Crawley Town
Crewe Alexandra
Derby County
Doncaster Rovers
Exeter City
Huddersfield Town
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Luton Town
Mansfield Town
MK Dons
Newport County
Northampton Town
Norwich City
Nottingham Forest
Oldham Athletic
Oxford United
Peterborough United
Preston North End
Rotherham United
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield Wednesday
Southend United
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Wycombe Wanderers

Advertisement block