Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ainsworth to hit four-year anniversary

21 September 2016

This weekend marks Gareth Ainsworth’s fourth anniversary as Chairboys manager as he heads north to Carlisle looking to celebrate with a second successive victory.

The 1-0 win over Stevenage on Saturday was the 80th of his reign in all competitions during his four-year spell, in which time he has clocked up 262 league points at an average of 1.42 per game.

His win rate stands at 38.1% - the third highest in the club’s Football League era, behind Martin O’Neill and Paul Lambert - while he’s presided over 61 clean sheets with an overall goal difference of +2.

78 different players have represented the Chairboys under the management of Ainsworth, who’s handed Wycombe debuts to 54, while 16 had never kicked a ball in senior competitive football prior to joining.

The 43-year-old was appointed on the 125th anniversary of the club’s first ever fixture on September 24th 2012, taking over an initial caretaker basis following the departure of previous boss Gary Waddock.

Ainsworth had limited experience as a caretaker across two spells at Queens Park Rangers but his leadership qualities shone through, guiding the Blues to a comfortable mid-table finish in his first season despite a turbulent off-field transition into Trust ownership.

Relegation was avoided in dramatic fashion on the final day of the 2013/14, prompting the manager into an overhaul of his squad in terms of personnel and tactical approach, leading the Blues to Wembley in the play-off final after surpassing the club’s best ever points tally in a Football League season.

It was enough to secure him the LMA League 2 Manager of the Year award and his stock grew even higher during the first half of the 2015/16 season, in which the Wanderers reached the League 2 summit and took Premier League Aston Villa to a replay in the FA Cup third round.

He sits seventh in the list of longest serving managers in the Premier League or EFL, behind Arsene Wenger (Arsenal), Paul Tisdale (Exeter), Karl Robinson (MK Dons), Paul Hurst (Grimsby), Jim Bentley (Morecambe) and Steve Davis (Crewe).

Advertisement block