Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Winners announced at End of Season Awards Dinner

3 May 2016

Jason McCarthy and Michael Harriman were the winners of the two Player of the Year awards at Wycombe Wanderers’ end of season dinner at Adams Park on Sunday evening.

Southampton loanee McCarthy came out on top in a poll of almost 1,500 votes to win the Supporters’ Player of the Year, while Harriman was nominated as Players’ Player of the Year by his team-mates.

There were also accolades for Luke O’Nien, who was named Young Player of the Year by the management staff, and Alex Lynch, who won the Community Player of the Year shield for his excellent work throughout the season with Wycombe Wanderers Sports & Education Trust projects.

Sido Jombati’s sumptuous strike in the FA Cup first round tie against Halifax Town won Goal of the Year – voted for by guests at the dinner from a shortlist of three – while there was also a prize for Unsung Hero, which went to Grant Lofthouse-Smith from the club’s conference centre team for 16 years’ excellent service on non-matchdays at Adams Park.

McCarthy has excelled in light and dark blue quarters, featuring in every match since joining on loan from Premier League side Southampton in October, contributing to one of the best defensive records in the Football League and scoring two goals against AFC Wimbledon and Oxford United.

Harriman returned to Adams Park last summer having spent time on loan at Adams Park three years ago, and made his initial loan move from Queens Park Rangers permanent in January, racking up eight goals amidst some outstanding performances to earn the plaudits of his peers.

Midfielder O’Nien was a close contender for the two Player of the Year titles but walked away with the trophy for Young Player of the Year after impressing the coaching staff on and off the pitch with his hard work ethic and talent which has seen him score five times and feature heavily in his first full season as a professional footballer.

Meanwhile, goalkeeper Lynch was recognised by the Sports & Education Trust as having played a stand-out role in the local community, including numerous visits to schools to assist with learning tasks, selling poppies in High Wycombe town centre on behalf of the Royal British Legion, supporting a charity event at Adams Park for the Thomas Ball Children’s Cancer Fund and attending a session hosted by the Show Racism The Red Card campaign.

The event was hosted by BBC television presenter and celebrity Wycombe fan Bill Turnbull, and featured a mesmerising display of magic by Harry de Cruz, wowing the 220 guests at the stadium.

Chairman Andrew Howard spoke of his pride at the club’s continued progress while Gareth Ainsworth presented framed photos to each of his loanees, plus Barry Richardson – now the club’s oldest ever player following his heroics in the 1-0 win at Plymouth in January – and defensive duo Aaron Pierre and Joe Jacobson, who were both named in the PFA League 2 Team of the Year.

Find out who voted for who in the Players' Player of the Year category:

Advertisement block