Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

We've Met Before - Morecambe

16 July 2014

Dale Jenkins' profile of League 2 clubs continues with Morecambe.

Morecambe FC formed in 1920 and did not reach the Conference until the 1995/96 season. It then took another eleven years to reach Football League status when the Shrimpers were promoted in 2007.

Sammy McIlroy, appointed in 2005, guided Morecambe to the Conference play-offs in his first season, but after defeat to Hereford, the club went one better in 2006/07 and defeated Exeter City at Wembley to earn a first chance to compete in the Football League. Steady progress continued as McIlroy led Morecambe to an 11th place finish the following year, before an even more successful season culminated in a play-off position before a 7-2 aggregate defeat to Dagenham and Redbridge.

Morecambe then moved from their long standing home Christie Park to a new stadium, The Globe Arena, which holds 6,476 spectators. The debut season at the new stadium was a struggle as the Shrimpers narrowly avoided relegation in 20th position.

McIlroy left by mutual consent and former player Jim Bentley was appointed on a two year contract. He has since led the club to two bottom half finishes in League Two on a small budget. A Paris Cowan-Hall header saw Morecambe lose 1-0 at Adams Park in the opening fixture of last season. The same player scored another headed goal in Lancashire but Kevin Ellison earned the hosts a share of the spoils.

Manager Jim Bentley has released centre half Chris McCready, left back Robbie Threlfall, winger Joe Mwasile and Joe McGee this summer. Marcus Marshall and Tony Diagne were transfer listed with the latter joining Lincoln City. Midfielder Jamie Devitt and defenders Shaun Beeley and Ryan Edwards have joined from Chesterfield, Fleetwood Town and Blackburn Rovers respectively after successful loan spells with the club last season.

Wanderers travel to the Globe Arena on Saturday 11th October 2014.

The return fixture in Buckinghamshire is set for Saturday 25th April 2015.

Advertisement block