Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

We've Met Before - Bury

8 July 2014

The club was formed in 1885 by Aiden Arrowsmith following a meeting at the White Horse Hotel between the Bury Wesleyans and Bury Unitarians Football Clubs.

Gigg Lane's first ever game saw Bury win a friendly match against Wigan on 12th September 1885.

The club benefitted from benefactor Hugh Eaves during a long period stemming from 1985-2003. During this time Bury found themselves in the second tier before relegation in 1998/99. In May 2005, Bury became the first football club to score 1,000 goals in the top four tiers of the English Football League.

Like the Chairboys, Bury have enjoyed mixed fortunes in recent years. Alan Knill and Chris Brass led Bury towards promotion in the 2010-11 season before leaving in March for Scunthorpe United. Richie Barker was announced as caretaker manager and six consecutive wins saw Bury promoted to League One.

The week after promotion was confirmed, Wycombe won 3-1 at Gigg Lane to set up a promotion of their own. It represented the first time that the club had reached the third tier of English Football since 2002. Barker was named permanent manager and led the club to 14th place in 2011/12 as Wycombe themselves were relegated despite selling star striker Ryan Lowe to Sheffield Wednesday.

Barker also left for pastures new to join Crawley Town but caretaker manager Peter Shirtliff failed to win any of his eight games in charge. Kevin Blackwell was named as permanent manager but a transfer embargo disrupted an initial recovery under the new manager and the club was relegated in April 2013. Bury consolidated in League Two last season under David Flitcroft who was appointed in December 2013.

Last year also saw the club taken over which resulted in Stewart Day taking over as Chairman. Bury have taken a very active stance in the transfer market this summer. They have brought in goalkeepers Shwan Jalal and Trevor Carson, left back Chris Hussey, midfielders Keil O’Brien, Danny Mayor and Nicky Adams and finally experienced striker Ryan Lowe, who returns to Gigg Lane for a third spell.

The club have released Richard Hinds, Tommy Miller, Lewis Young, Robbie McIntyre and Temitope Obadeyi, while Andy Procter and Ashley Grimes have been transfer listed.

The Shakers travel to Adams Park on Saturday 6th September 2014.

The reverse fixture at Gigg Lane takes place on Saturday 17th January 2015.

Advertisement block