Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

We've Met Before - Plymouth Argyle

7 August 2014

Dale Jenkins takes a look through Argyle's history.

The club was founded in 1886 as Argyle Football Club. The club adopted its current name when it became fully professional in 1903 joining the Southern League. Paul Sturrock was announced as manager in 2000 and he took the club to midtable after inheriting a relegation battle. The next four years saw unprecedented success, earning two promotions in three years.

Tony Pulis had a brief spell in charge before Ian Holloway took over in 2006, constructing a team that looked capable of promotion to the Premier League. Holloway however controversially left for Leicester City and Sturrock returned in 2007 before the club began a decline through the divisions. Paul Mariner, Peter Reid and Carl Fletcher all undertook difficult spells in charge as the club dropped through the divisions and eventually found itself battling to survive the relegation trapdoor into non-league.

There were also significant off-field problems with a ten point deduction in 2011 and three separate winding up petitions. Peter Ridsdale and administrators oversaw months of uncertainty before James Brent completed the takeover of the Devon club in October 2011. Ex-Chesterfield manager John Sheridan was announced as the club’s new manager in 2013 and steered the club towards a play-off position last season but Argyle fell just short.

Argyle released Maxime Blanchard, Romuald Boco, Jake Cole, Matt Parsons, Neal Trotman, Isaac Vassell and Luke Young this summer. To date, Sheridan has signed eight new players; Lee Cox, Deane Smalley, Reuben Reid, Carl McHugh, Peter Hartley, Kelvin Mellor, James Bittner and Oliver Norburn.

The Chairboys make the long journey to Home Park on Tuesday 16th September 2014.

The Pilgrims visit Adams Park on Tuesday 10th February 2015.

Advertisement block