Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

We've Met Before - Oxford United

7 August 2014

Local rivals Oxford United fall under Dale Jenkins' focus.

Oxford United were formed as Headington in 1893 and first entered the Football League in 1962 after adopting its current name a couple of years earlier to increase the club’s profile. Oxford won the League Cup, known at the time as the Milk Cup, in 1986 and enjoyed its glory years in the First Division before relegation from the top flight in 1988 signalled a change in fortunes as the club dropped through the divisions.

The U’s were eventually relegated to the Conference in 2006 under the stewardship of Jim Smith, just after owner Firoz Kassam had sold the club to Florida businessman Nick Merry. It took four years and various changes in management and ownership for the club to regain its place in the Football League in 2010. Since then the club has registered four midtable finishes in the fourth tier, unable to mount a serious promotion challenge but never in serious danger of relegation back to the Conference.

It has been a tumultuous summer with the club restructuring and changing management. Darryl Eales was announced as a new investor and shareholder alongside the Lenaghan family and Mark Ashton was appointed Chief Executive. Long serving striker James Constable joined Eastleigh and the experienced Dave Kitson announced his retirement. Deane Smalley, Scott Davies and Sean Rigg also departed.

Gary Waddock signed ex-Aldershot forward Danny Hylton before being sacked by the new Oxford ownership structure this summer. Waddock left the club after overseeing just eight matches last season, with Oxford losing seven of those games. Michael Appleton has since been appointed as First Team Coach and he has brought in former Scunthorpe midfielder Michael Collins, ex-Fleetwood winger Junior Brown and loaned Sheffield United goalkeeper Sean Long as well as Bolton Wanderers defender Joe Riley.

Wanderers make the short journey to the Kassam on Saturday 1st November 2014.

The return fixture at Adams Park is on Saturday 4th April 2015.

Advertisement block