Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Manager history

20 January 2013

Wycombe Wanderers has seen a number of managers pass through the club since its foundation in 1887.

For the first 82 years of our existence, the club didn't actually employ a manager with the team being selected by the captain at the time. James McCormack was the first coach to be appointed in 1951 but it wasn't until Brian Lee took the reigns in 1969 that the Blues had a recognised manager. 

Prior to his appointment, team selection was made by a Match Committee that met every Monday morning.


James McCormack  1951-1952 
Sid Cann 1952 -1961 
Graham Adams 1961-1962 
Don Welsh 1962-1964 
Barry Darvill 1964-1968 
Brian Lee 1969-1976 
Ted Powell 1976-1977 
John Reardon 1977-1978 
Andy Williams 1978-1980 
Mike Keen 1980-1984 
Paul Bence 1984-1986 
Alan Gane 1986-1987 
Peter Suddaby 1987-1988 
Jim Kelman 1988-1990 
Martin O'Neill 1990-1995 
Alan Smith 1995-1996 
John Gregory 1996-1998 
Neil Smillie 1998-1999 
Lawrie Sanchez 1999-2003 
Tony Adams 2003-2004 
John Gorman 2004-2006 
Paul Lambert 2006-2008 
Peter Taylor 2008-2009 
Gareth Ainsworth 2012-
Gary Waddock 2009- 2012

Advertisement block