Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Report: Blues 0-1 Newport

26 December 2013

Wanderers were unable to build on Saturday's fine win at Northampton as Mike Flynn's superb lob secured all three points for Newport.

Gareth Ainsworth named an unchanged side with Gary Doherty, Leon Johnson and Paris Cowan-Hall all featuring on the bench for the Wanderers after recovering from injury. Josh Scowen was available again after serving a one-match ban. 

Newport had the first opportunity of the game, a slip from Kortney Hause allowed Flynn with space for a shot, but Anthony Stewart denied the opportunity with a well-timed tackle. 

A few minutes later a poor throw in from the right was blocked by Jo Kuffour, who couldn’t quite manage to put Dean Morgan through on goal. 

However, it was Morgan who came close for the Blues on the 15th minute. Nick Arnold picked him out along the right wing, and the striker cut inside and unleashed a venomous strike which Newport keeper Lenny Pidgeley could only parry and collect at the second attempt. 

Wycombe came close from a corner on the 22nd minute, but neither Hause nor Stewart could quite reach the ball for a header.  At the other end, Newport nearly opened the scoring through Christian Jolley, whose fiercely-hit volley came off the underside of the crossbar – a warning for the Blues. 

It was Newport who opened the scoring on the 30th minute when midfielder Flynn latched on to Adam Chapman's fantastic through ball and the expertly lobbed over Matt Ingram. 

A few moments later, a mistake in the Newport defence presented Kuffour with an opportunity to equalise after being played through on goal by Matt Bloomfield. However, his shot was cleared off the line by David Pipe. 

Newport came close to doubling their lead, when midfielder Flynn curled a shot to the bottom left hand corner of the goal, but Stewart was there to head the ball away. 

Morgan pulled up with an injury on the 43rd minute, with  Matt McClure coming on as his replacement. 
HT – Wycombe 0 – 1 Newport County 

Blues started the second half strongly and forced two successive corners, however, Max Kretzschmar was unable to pick out a blue shirt in the box. 

Wycombe had their best opportunity of the game on the 58th minute; McClure was put through on goal only to be denied by a fantastic tackle from Ryan Jackson. The subsequent ball from Kuffour across the box was inches away from the on-rushing McCoy. 

Ingram then made a fine save from a Newport corner, punching the ball clear after Robbie Willmott sent a teasing ball into the box. Minutes later, Nick Arnold delivered a killer ball into the box, however the Blues were unable to get a head on the end of it. 

The 65th minute saw Kretzschmar make way for Billy Knott, with the Blues changing to a 4-3-1-2 formation. 

Newport came close to doubling their advantage through Jolley when he tapped the ball towards goal from a cross along the box; however Matt Ingram produced a fine save. 

Both sides made changes on the 73rd minute with striker Connor Washington making way for Danny Crow and the Blues switching Kuffour for Paris Cowan-Hall.  It was the latter who attempted a shot on the 75th minute, but he was unable to find the target after initially making space for himself on the edge of the area. 

Newport made their second change on the 78th minute with the impressive Willmott making way for Tom Naylor. It was Naylor who attempted a long-range shot on the 86th minute, which flew just inches away from the post. 

Captain Stuart Lewis had a long range effort easily saved by Pidgeley in the 86th minute, with the Blues looking to get themselves on level terms. 

Wycombe came close to an equaliser in the final minute of added time. Nick Arnold’s corner found Matt Ingram whose effort fell to Billy Knott, but the midfielder could only send the rebound into the stands. 

Wanderers: Ingram, McCoy, Wood, Stewart, Hause, Arnold, Lewis (c), Bloomfield, Kretzschmar (Knott 66), Morgan (McClure 45), Kuffour (Cowan-Hall 74). 

Subs: Horlock, Doherty, Johnson, Scowen. 

Newport: Pidgeley, Jackson, Sandell, Worley, Oshilaja, Pipe (c), Flynn, Willmott (Naylor 78), Chapman, Washington (Crowe 73), Jolley (Burge 88). 

Subs: James, Yakubu, Minshull, Barker.

Advertisement block